This image shows the temperature field behind a heated cylinder, measured using Laser Induced Fluorescence (LIF). The flow has a Reynolds number of 130 and a Richardson number of 1.5. This image is taken from a study by Seuntiëns, Rindt and van Steenhoven ( This image is from a paper by Yildirim, Rindt and van Steenhoven in EUROTHERM 2008 Proceedings, which looks at the effect of heat input and the presence of a wire on vortex shedding behind a cylinder This image of molecular simulation of droplet evaporation is from the paper of Sumardiono and Fischer that was presented at EUROTHERM Seminar 77: Heat and Mass Transfer in Food Processing, held in Parma, Italy in 2005. This image shows a nanochannel with a hot wall (left) and a cold wall (right). Heat transfer in the nanochannel is simulated using molecular dynamics and Monte Carlo methods; the research has been conducted by Nidea, Frijns, van Steenhoven and Markvoort (

EUROTHERM Young Scientist Prizes and Awards

Every four years EUROTHERM presents the EUROTHERM Young Scientist Prize and two Awards to Scientists who are less than thirty five years at the time of the Prizes presentation.

The 2016 EUROTHERM Young Scientist Prize and Awards will be presented at the 7th European Thermal Sciences Conference (EUROTHERM 2016 to be held in Krakow, Poland, 19-23 June 2016.

Presentation of Prizes is proposed by the EUROTHERM Prize Committee, appointed by EUROTHERM Committee and consisting of Committee Members, on the basis of the scientific level of the PhD Thesis, originality and generality of the work, importance of the results for thermal sciences, and suitability of the modelling and/or of the experimental methods for thermal sciences. Candidates are PhDs selected by national bodies or committees, up to two candidates from each country represented within the EUROTHERM Committee. The Prize and Awards are presented to stimulate young scientists towards the research work in the field of thermal sciences. Young scientists need to be properly and quickly introduced in the scientific community and this is the aim of the EUROTHERM initiative through the Young Scientist Prize and Awards.

Recipients of Prizes and Awards in 1992 (presented at the 1st European Thermal Sciences Conference, held in Birmingham, 16-18 September 1992), in 1996 (presented at the 2nd European Thermal Sciences Conference, held in Rome, 29-31 May 1996), in 2000 (presented at the 3rd European Thermal Sciences Conference, held in Heidelberg on 10-13 September 2000), in 2004 (presented at the 4th European Thermal Sciences Conference, held in Birmingham on 29-31 March 2004) and in 2008 (presented at the 5th European Thermal Sciences Conference, held in Eindhoven on 18-22 May 2008) are reported here (in alphabetic order). In 1992 and 2000, as marginal differences came out from the evaluation of the Prize Committee, three Awards were presented.

1992 A. Soufiani, France (Prize) F. D'Annibale, Italy (Award) R. Henkes, The Netherlands (Award) S. Kabelac, Germany (Award)
1996 R.A. Kuyper, The Netherlands (Prize) C. Castelain, France (Award) S. Winkler, Germany (Award)
2000 B. Bottin, Belgium (Prize) C.C.M. Luijten, The Netherlands (Award) J. Soldner, Germany (Award) H. van Santen, The Netherlands (Award)
2004 R. Kieft, The Netherlands (Prize) J.R. Barbosa, UK (Award) J. van Oijen, The Netherlands (Award)
2008 R. Revellin, France (Prize) T. O´Donovan, Ireland (Award) D. Testi, Italy (Award)
2012 R. Stevens, Netherlands (Prize) J. Stafford, Ireland (Award) M. Celli, Italy (Award)
2016 B.D. Donoghue, Ireland (Prize) A. Diani, Italy (Award) M.G. Delgado Spain (Award)


1. The Prize and Awards:
EUROTHERM Committee confers, every four years, one EUROTHERM Young Scientist Prize and two EUROTHERM Awards. The prizes are presented at the European Thermal Sciences Conference. The next presentation will be at the 7th Conference in Krakow, Poland, 19-23 June 2016.
2. The candidates:
Candidates must have obtained within one of the EUROTHERM countries a Ph.D. degree in the field of Thermal Sciences and Heat Transfer. They should be younger than 35 years at the date of the prize (June 19th, 2016). Each European country is allowed to submit to the Prize Committee a maximum of two candidates for the Prize and the Awards.
3. Nomination of candidates in each country:
The national representatives of the EUROTHERM Committee will organize, with the national bodies (when they exist) a national committee composed of several senior scientists working in the different fields of Thermal Sciences and Heat Transfer. This committee diffuses the information about the prize and selects the national nominee(s). Proposals for nominations should be sent to the respective national committee members. Please contact the national representatives of the EUROTHERM Committee for any information on the national committees for the Prize (see attached list) or for any further information. Deadline for the proposals for nomination is: December 15th, 2015.
4. The submission of documents:
Each proposal for a candidate should contain:
- The Ph.D. thesis. The thesis should have been presented within the last five years before the date of the prize. If not in English it should have an English summary of at least five pages.
- Relevant papers in English published in an international journal or in conference proceedings with review process related to the thesis and eventually to the present main theme of research of the candidate. All must be authored by the candidate and the main contribution to this research work must come from the candidate.
- A curriculum vitae
- A full list of papers
- The assessment reports of the thesis if available, or the awarding of a distinction of honor like cum laude etc.
5. Prize Committee:
The Prize Committee is nominated every four years by the EUROTHERM Committee, and consists of six members chosen within its delegates. It consists for 2016 of: Profs. P. Coelho, S. Kabelac, C. Le Niliot, G.L. Morini, D. Murray, T. van der Meer,
6. The assessment criteria:
The following criteria will be taken into account for the assessment:
- Scientific level
- Originality and generality of the work
- Importance of the results for thermal sciences and heat transfer
- Suitability of the modelling and/or of the experimental methods for thermal sciences and heat transfer


We sadly inform the sad news of passing away of Professor Geoffrey Hewitt. He was an Honorary Member and a cofounder of the EUROTHERM Committee

Professor Hewitt's contributions to the field have been recognised by his election to the Royal Society, the Royal Academy of Engineering and the US National Academy of Engineering in addition to international awards. He was inspiring thermal scientist and he was founder of Heat Transfer and Fluid Flow Service. He left us far too soon and will be greatly missed by the international communities.

Special issue dedicated to the seventh European Thermal-Sciences Conference (EUROTHERM 2016) held in Krakow, Poland in June 2016 has been published. Heat and Mass Transfer, August 2018, Volume 54, Issue 8, pp.2173–2174)

Upcoming Seminars
View information about our upcoming seminars here...

Eurotherm 2016
Eurotherm 2016 in Krakow, Poland.